NVL Women's Div3SW Winners Trophy 2018Yeovil Volleyball Club's women's team crowned champions of the Volleyball England National Volleyball League Division 3 South West for the 2017/18 season.

YVC NL Women 2017 18In their third season in Volleyball England's National Volleyball League, Yeovil Volleyball Club's women's team improved on their fith place in the division last season by claiming the title this year.

 As the season developed it became clear that the battle for the title was going to come down to just two teams - Yeovil and Plymouth.

In their first encounter of the season, a triangular fixture hosted by City of Bristol in February, Yeovil were beaten in straight sets (25-9, 25-22, 25-21) and their prospects didn't look good. The only saving grace was that Plymouth had also lost to Bristol earlier in the new year.

So, the scene was set for a showdown. The return leg was at triangular fixture hosted by Plymouth, giving them the home advantage both in being used to the hall and in the large partisan crowd of supporters. Yeovil, perhaps understandably, started slowly loosing the first two sets and leaving themselves no room for error going into the third.

However, the team knuckled down and ground out winning performances in the final three sets to eventually win 3-2 (14-25, 19-25, 25-23, 28-26,15-8)

NVL Women Div 3SW Final Table 2017 18 Cropped

The women were presented with their winner's trophy and medals at Volleyball England's Super 8s Finals weekend held at the National Volleyball Centre, Kettering. Representatives from the team collected the trophy in front of the crowd before the women's Super 8 final was played.